Fortune Cookies–A legendary Quest

29 Jan

I read an article today about Fortune Cookies from a local magazine.  Thank you to the author Sarah for sparking thefortune-cookie following memory:

 

I have always loved fortune cookies. During middle school, one of my best friends bought a 5lb. bag of “irregular” fortune cookies.  Why?  Because fortune cookies are good–really good AND because we pretty much bought anything that was a “good deal”.   The bag was discounted because the cookies were disfigured, but we loved them despite their obvious physical defects.

 

Naturally, I eagerly joined my friend in a quest to eat the entire bag as quickly as possible.  In the beginning, we would have never imagined that we could EVER get sick of fortune cookies.  Well, we did.  I say we got sick of eating them, but we did not give up.  We got resourceful.  We got creative.  Most of our creations were good, fortune cookies and peanut butter being among my favorites.  Some creations were not–I talking about you hot sauce and cheese.  But the biggest disappointment of all came when we broke the cookies into small bits and poured milk over them.  Ladies and Gentlemen, I give you Fortune Cookie CerealOur hearts swelled with pride as we took our first bite, but…to our (utter) dismay, it tasted like milky garbage.  Fortune cookies do not make a good breakfast cereal–not even kindof.  How is that even possible?!? I am here to tell you that not only is it possible; it is a sad, harsh truth.  One I have come to grips with over several years. 

 

In the end, I would like to believe that we finished the 5lb. bag under our 24 hour time limit, but the reality is that we probably put the half eaten bag somewhere in the pantry for his mom to deal with 6 months later.  We were good kids.

 

Confession:  I really want to try Fortune Cookie Cereal again. I still can’t get my head wrapped around the idea that it wouldn’t be good.  It has to be good, right?  Its Fortune Cookies, its Milk.  It is Fortune Cookie Cereal.  

2 Responses to “Fortune Cookies–A legendary Quest”

  1. Fluffy the lizard biscuit February 1, 2009 at 1:43 am #

    One day, perhaps, one of our great adventures from yesteryear may be the topic of a whimsical annecdote, immortalized in this here blog.
    Till that day, here’s to cracker doughnuts,
    fluffy

  2. Corbin T-Bone Talley February 11, 2009 at 5:26 am #

    Kiley – I agree. How can fortune cookie cereal NOT be delicious???
    I think you ought to do some more research into this.
    Funny Story.

Leave a Reply

